Animals Feeding Behaviour
Feeding is the process by which organisms, typically animals, obtain food. Classification of animals with type of food are detailed below.
The feeding behaviour can be classified as
  • Carnivore - the eating of animals
  • Herbivore - the eating of plants
  • Omnivore - the eating of both plants and animals
  • Fungivore - the eating of fungus
  • Bacterivore - the eating of bacteria
  • Planktivore - the eating of plankton


A carnivore meaning 'meat eater' is an animal that derives its energy and nutrient requirements from a diet consisting mainly or exclusively of animal tissue, whether through predation or scavenging.


A herbivore is an animal anatomically and physiologically adapted to plant material. for example leaf, as the main component of its diet. These animals have an all plant diet and have characteristics that are special for obtaining plant material. (ex. Teeth for chewing tough plant parts).


An omnivore, meaning 'all-eater' species is a consumer of a variety of material as significant food sources in their natural diet. These foods may include plants, animals, algae and fungi. Omnivores are capable of consuming and do consume both animal protein and vegetation.


Fungivory is the process of organisms consuming fungi. Many different organisms have been recorded to gain their energy from consuming fungi, including birds, mammals, insects, plants, amoeba, gastropods, nematodes and bacteria. Many mammals eat fungi, but only a few feed exclusively on fungi, most are opportunistic feeders and fungi only make up part of their diet.


Bacterivores are free-living, generally heterotrophic organisms, exclusively microscopic, which obtain energy and nutrients primarily or entirely from the consumption of bacteria. Many species of amoeba are bacterivores .


A planktivore is an aquatic organism that feeds on planktonic food. Plankton are any organisms that live in the water column and are incapable of swimming against a current. They provide a crucial source of food to many large aquatic organisms, such as fish and whales. .
List of feeding behaviour

Further classification of above are listed below
  • Araneophagy - eating spiders
  • Avivore - eating birds
  • Durophagy - eating hard-shelled or exoskeleton bearing organisms
  • Haematophagy - eating blood
  • Insectivore - eating insects
  • Myrmecophagy - eating ants and/or termites
  • Keratophagy or Ceratophagy - eating horny material, such as wool by cloths moths, or snakes eating their own skin after ecdysis.
  • Lepidophagy - eating fish scales
  • Molluscivore - eating molluscs
  • Mucophagy - eating mucus
  • Ophiophagy - eating snakes
  • Piscivore - eating fish
  • Spongivore - eating sponges
  • Teuthophagore - eating mainly squid and other cephalopods
  • Vermivore - eating worms
  • Exudativore - eating plant and/or insect exudates (gum, sap, lerp, etc.)
  • Gumivore - eating tree gum
  • Folivore - eating leaves
  • Florivore - eating flower tissue prior to seed coat formation
  • Frugivore - eating fruits
  • Graminivore - eating grasses
  • Granivore - eating seeds
  • Mucivores - eating plant fluids, i.e. sap
  • Nectarivore - eating nectar
  • Palynivore - eating pollen
  • Xylophagy - eating wood

Animal homes
Camels and their types
Animal Classification
Animal Feeding Behaviour
Interesting facts about Camels
Interesting facts about animals
Interesting facts about Rainforest animals
Facts about bats and their types
Facts about deer and their types
Facts about zebra and their types

Most visited articles

Know the gender of animals, arranged alphabetically & can be sorted


know more about about different types of whales and other information on whales.


You can find he exhaustive list of collective nouns. .

Other interesting artcles

Animals live in a variety of different kinds of homes like burrow, tree, thicket, water, nest, cave, den, hive, lodge etc. Read to know more

Know some interesting facts about human organs like human brain, eyes, heart, lungs, kidneys etc. read to know more.

Read to know why and which all nutrients are important for our body and what are the effects of its deficiencies.

What are the different spheres of the earth? What is the whole system of earth referred as? Read to know more.


Incubation is a process by which birds hatch their eggs, and to the development of the embryo within the egg. Read to know more about the incubation periods of birds.

Know more about the currencies like US Dollar, Chinese Renminbi, Russian Ruble, Polish Złoty, Mexican Peso, Swiss Frac and the their denominations